

WHISTLER

MINUTES

ZERO WASTE SELECT COMMITTEE

THURSDAY, JUNE 25, 2020, STARTING AT 1:00 P.M.

Online – Zoom

PRESENT:

Andrew Tucker, RMOW Arthur De Jong, RMOW Council Cathy Jewett, RMOW Council Anita Auer, Crystal Lodge Tom McColm, Canadian Home Builders Association Sue Maxwell, Citizen at Large Lori Pyne, Whistler Community Services Society Kerren Bottay, Restaurant Association of Whistler Thea Zerbe, Whistler Blackcomb/Vail Resorts Claire Ruddy, AWARE Lauren Harrison, RMOW James Hallisey, RMOW Luisa Berhenne, RMOW Heather Beresford, RMOW Cheeying Ho, Facilitator

ABSENT:

Marie-Lou LeBlanc, SLRD Allana Williams, Whistler Blackcomb

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Moved by A. De Jong Seconded by C. Ruddy

That the Zero Waste Select Committee adopts the Zero Waste Select Committee agenda of June 25, 2020.

CARRIED

ADOPTION OF MINUTES

Moved by A. De Jong Seconded C. Ruddy

That the Zero Waste Select Committee adopts the Zero Waste Select Committee minutes of February 21, 2020.

CARRIED

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Councilor C. Jewett, Committee Chair, welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked everyone for their participation on the committee.

Minutes – Zero Waste Select Committee June 25, 2020 Page 2

C. Ho reviewed the agenda and objectives and led a round of introductions.

REVIEW OF INTERVIEW RESULTS

C. Ho presented the results of the interviews she conducted with members of the committee. Overall, committee members feel that zero waste efforts have gone backwards during the COVID-19 situation. C. Ho reminded everyone that we are creating a medium to long-term action plan and to not let the current situation impact the plan substantially.

T. McColm created a survey on waste practices and sent it to the Canadian Home Builders Association. This survey received 14 responses. C. Ho presented on the results.

UPDATE ON WASTE IN WHISTLER

A. Tucker provided an update on the waste generated in Whistler since February. Overall, the amount of waste created in Whistler has been lower since COVID-19 began. This is due to restaurant closures, fewer people in town and closed construction sites. The amount of waste in the compactors at the depots was higher than the amount of waste generated in 2019. This is likely due to increased take-out containers, more packaging from online shopping and people cleaning out their homes with nowhere to donate second-hand items.

REVIEW OF DESIRED OUTCOMES

The committee members worked collaboratively on a Google Doc to review the refined desired outcome statements from the last meeting.

REVIEW STRATEGIES AND ACTIONS

The committee members worked in groups of 3 to review strategies and actions for each of the 4 focus areas. Focus areas are built environment materials; organics, food and food packaging; general/cross-cutting; and consumer products and packaging. The strategies will focus on education, programs, infrastructures and policies/bylaws.

CLIMATE BIG MOVES

H. Beresford introduced the Climate Action Big Moves Strategy. This is a strategy that focuses on climate change mitigation priorities that will accelerate climate action in Whistler and will significantly reduce greenhouse gas emissions. The strategy comprises 6 big moves that focus on buildings, transport and waste and sets a new 2030 target of 50% below 2007 emissions.

The Environment Stewardship department is looking for feedback on the waste section from the Zero Waste Select Committee. The strategy is being presented to

council on July 7 and then a detailed implementation and monitoring plan will be

Minutes – Zero Waste Select Committee June 25, 2020 Page 3

developed over the summer. Experts and stakeholders will be engaged as specific key initiatives are planned and executed.

NEXT STEPS

- Review and refine all actions
- Develop criteria for prioritizing actions
- Identify timeline goals for all actions, identify the lead organization and partners, identify KPIs for all actions
- Write draft action plan

TERMINATION

Moved by A. De Jong Seconded by C. Ruddy

That the Zero Waste Select Committee terminates the June 25, 2020 Zero Waste Committee meeting at 3:05 p.m.

CARRIED

CHAIR: C. Jewett

Harrison

RECORDING SECRETARY: L. Harrison